• How does Australia build the capability of our parliamentarians to govern in the complex and dynamic 21st century?

Since 2013, we have worked with the major political parties and leading educational institutions to create Australia’s first and only Leadership Program for Parliamentarians. It builds the capability of parliamentarians along three streams:

  • The Person: Motivations, strengths, and pathways to grow as a leader.

  • The Role: Effective approaches to governing in a 21st Century democracy.

  • The Context: The complex and rapidly changing world around us.

The Leadership Program for Parliamentarians  has been developed in collaboration with La Trobe University and Trinity College in the University of Melbourne, with pro bono input from the Program’s Advisory Council and the Australian Futures Project’s Learning and Leadership Advisory Group.

It has been designed with input from politicians and both the Australian Labor Party and the Liberal Party of Australia.

The program draws on international best practice from the Harvard Kennedy School in the USA, the Institute for Government in the UK, Boston Consulting Group’s work with presidential appointees in the USA, and corporate leadership programs at the likes of AT Kearney, IBM, and Toyota.

We are guided by our steering committee of experts and leaders:

  • Mary Easson – Former ALP MP.
  • Michael Lee – former ALP Communications Minister
  • Terry Moran – former Secretary, Department of the Prime Minister and Cabinet
  • Brendan Nelson – former Liberal Defence Minister and Leader of the Opposition.
  • Kay Patterson – Former Liberal Minister for Health and Ageing, Minister for Family and Community Services, and Minister Assisting the PM for Women’s Issues.
  • Elizabeth Proust – former Secretary, Victorian Department of the Premier and Cabinet.